On A Fit Trip

living and loving a healthy life

Seasonal squashes + cranberry experiment #2

Let’s make a list.

  1. Go Yankees!
  2. My cranberry cobbler turned out pretty well.  The ratio of fruity bottom to biscuit topping was slightly off; that was really my only complaint.

    spoonful of cobbler

    spoonful of cobbler

  3. Speaking of cranberries, experiment #2 is in the oven right now.  Does a cranberry cacao muffin sound good?  I thought it might be nice.  It smells amazing while it’s cooking, at the very least.
    batter is ready

    batter is ready

    baking acting shot

    baking action shot

  4. I’ve been experimenting with some pilates as a supplement to my running this week.  I’m digging on it, so far.
  5. Here is today’s small farmers’ market haul.
    squash, squash, squash, tomato

    squash, squash, squash, tomato

    You will notice that both summer and winter squash are represented here.  After my agreeable butternut squash experience last week, I decided to try out a sweet dumpling squash.  I washed it and popped it in the oven at 320.  After it had softened a little bit, I stabbed some holes in it to allow steam to escape.  I baked it for an hour and twenty minutes, changing its position on the baking sheet every twenty minutes or so.  Then I stuck it in the fridge for a few minutes, to speed up the cooling so I could cut it.  Hunger was rendering me impatient.

    squash innards

    squash innards

    I topped it with my usual array of condiments: hot sauce, cayenne, Bragg’s, and a dash of apple cider vinegar.  It was good!  Very mild flavor; texture was not too mushy or grainy.

    now it may be consumed

    now it may be consumed

  6. I’m so excited; I’ve got all sorts of new music!  Yesterday, my boss- the coolest, most collaborative boss I’ve ever had, I might add- and I did a massive music swap while at work.  New music, muffins in the oven, not a bad evening, right?
  7. Wait, the muffins are out of the oven.


    and on the cooling rack

  8. And, after letting them cool for a bit, I tried one.  Ooh, this was a good experiment.  Very chocolatey; light in texture but still sort of rich (I find that coconut oil often imparts this quality in baked goods); not really tart or bitter but not overly sweet by any means.  I based it on this recipe.
  • 1 c almond milk
  • little less than 1/4 c coconut oil
  • little less that 1/4 c extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 c palm sugar
  • 2 c whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 c oats
  • 1/4 c raw cacao powder
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • dash or two salt
  • 1 c fresh cranberries, pulsed in food pro
  • about 1/3 c cacao nibs

Preheat oven to 350.  Line muffin tins or spray lightly with oil.  Combine first four ingredients in a large bowl.  Whisk together following six ingredients in another bowl.  Stir in cranberries and nibs.  In two batches, add dry mixture to wet.  Mix until well combined, but don’t overmix; it can be lumpy.  Fill muffin tins; bake for 16-20 minutes (until toothpick test comes out positive).

Now I’m going to make some tea and try to resist grabbing another muffin from the cooling rack.  Tomorrow is National Doughnut Day!  Do you prefer doughnuts or muffins?

November 4, 2009 - Posted by | farmers' market, list, music, recipe, sweets, workout


  1. Look at all that squash! Would you believe I have never tried acorn squash before? Or spaghetti?! In fact, reading this post makes me realize what little squash experience I have ;)

    I don’t think I’ve asked you before, what part of SoCal are you from?

    Comment by Lara (Thinspired) | November 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. Cranberry cacao?! That so sounds so, so good. And good for you. And the squash! Mmm. Do you eat the skin? Sometimes I do, when particularly lazy…

    When I was younger I really liked donuts, but I’m turning into more of a muffin head.

    Comment by lilveggiepatch | November 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. i’ve never heard of that kind of squash – though i love the name! awwwww.

    Comment by Lynn @ The Actors Diet | November 5, 2009 | Reply

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

